Was a bigger wheel a mistake?

shellac

So I’ve been rocking an 84v mten3 for a couple months now. It’s my first wheel and it was really rough getting the hang of it  for a while at first but now I’m super confident on it. I can ride around at 20 mph, take turns at speed, ride backwards, hit some bumps and whatnot. It’s super fun and I’ve really had a blast with it. 

I had always planned to learn on the mten3 and then get a bigger wheel. Ultimately I decided to go with a z10 though I’ve been eyeing the suspension wheels. I’ve only had it for about two days, but man, it feels like I’ve gone from a sports car to a tank. It doesn’t have the same torque off the line and it’s not as agile. And of course it’s incredibly heavy, wide, and hard on the inside of my shins. 

I’m no longer sure why I got a bigger wheel in the first place. It seems like most here enjoy their 18” wheel and I was sort of following along with the hive mind. I can’t even imagine what a Monster or Sherman must be like  

Did I get the wrong wheel? Have I just not given it enough time and I’ll eventually come to enjoy it more then the mten3? Are bigger wheels even for me? Maybe I should have just been happy with my original wheel and saved the money. 

• Like 2

You’ll get used to it, feels comfy, powerfull and safe once you know to throw it around. The Z10 is especially hard to turn compared to other large wheels though, the right balance seem to be 3inch tyres. Z10 owners seem to mostly love theirs though, so it will probably grow on you.

Edited by null
  • Like 3

you will soon find you can ride at 00000.1mph on the Z without wobbling :) it will be a revalation compared to the mten.