Jan 2020 best Kingsong commuter. 16X or 18XL?

Mortal Coil

Hi all,

I’m new to EUCs. I currently have an ancient Gotway MCM2 that I’ve been learning to ride on. I bought it cheap from a Singaporean student who’s returning home and won’t be able to use it because of the new Anti-PEV laws there. Anyway, If I can prove to my wife that this is not just a passing fancy and something that I’m dead set keen on then funds may be released in the next couple of months for a modern wheel.

I think I’ve settled on the 16X or the 18XL. I’m 80kg (175 lbs) and I plan on using the wheel for door to door commuting to my work which is 13km (8 miles). Mostly along a straight bike path built under an elevated railway. The first and last couple of km will be on a foot path. The last foot path section is by a university which can get quite congested on the mornings.

I was originally set on the 16X because:

It looks awesome

wide tyre would make slow speed manoeuvring around pedestrians easier

torque!

But then I delved into the 16X issues thread and I started to have second thoughts. Cut-outs, pedal dips, poor weatherproofing, wheel oscillation, control board failures. Not something you want in a day to day commuter. So I’m now leaning towards the  18XL. It’s still a decent looking wheel, and while the congested footpath section might be harder, the long straight bike path will be more comfortable.

Is my thinking sound? Or are all the issues reported with the 16X the exception rather than the rule?

PS: The MSX and the Nikola are ugly (imo) and their trolley handles are impractical, I’ll be wanting to trolley the wheel inside my work place, up elevators and along corridors.

• Like 2

19 minutes ago, Mortal Coil said:

Thanks @The Fat Unicyclist! Part of the budget I plan to negotiate for the wheel will include an extra $1K for safety gear, which will include a bodyguard :)

PM..

Thanks for that @Mortal Coil!   :clap3: