Should I get a cheap wheel initially or pad up a good one?

RooEUC

Hi,

I have been riding and building electric skateboards for 8 years and this year I got really into the self-balancing thing.  I tried a hoverboard and it was fun but completely useless for transport.  Last week I bought a Segway Minipro and it is life-transformative.  Perfect for walking/running my high energy dog and for getting around locally.  But I am thinking of adding an EUC to the fleet because I want something that is faster, more compact and more destination-carry-friendly than the MiniPro.  The EUC would be for travelling solo to the mall and riding on hard-packed walking/cycling trails in the woods.

Initially I will need to learn on something cheap and cheerful.  I will most likely batter it up during the learning process so I don't want anything sleek and expensive until I am ready.  Is this the right way to go into this?  Or should I get a dream machine and cover it in padding?  If I go cheap, safety is a major concern - I need it to be reliable enough not to turn off and throw me on my face.  I hate getting hurt/cut/bruised/losing teeth/eyes, especially when it's not my own fault but as the result of a hardware/software failure.

What's my best option that's available in Canada without paying hundreds for shipping and import duties?

Thanks

Dream machine + pad it up really well. More powerful = more safety, more fun. If you already have a minipro (so the EUC would not be your first self balancing gadget), you'd probably get bored really fast of a weak, slow wheel anyways. People here have sold their Ninebots (which aren't bad) after a week as beginners already, and gone for a better wheel.