Total newbie (pre buying) advice needed please :)

Mini.mina

Hi

My name is Amina from Cambridge U.K. Totally new to the EUC world. I saw someone using one near the Cambridge Science Park (are you on here?) and I was fascinated at the device! I mean it looks super cool!

Heres my situation:

I got a new job in London! I was debating on buying a fold up cycle and then I saw the EUC and wanted to learn more. This is going to be my daily commute:

home to train station: 4 miles - Kings cross to work - 3 miles. Round trip (that I expect to use EUC for) 14 miles per day.

Questions:

1. Are there any restrictions on using a device like this? Will the police stop me?

2. What one to buy? - Money isn't a restriction, I have seen people recommend trying a cheap one first before committing to an expensive one. Is there a good all rounder to invest in? (i.e good first buy and also no need to upgrade for a long time)

3. Key features: I would like it to have a handle to help me to easily transport the device from the station/ upstairs etc. With this in mind nothing too heavy.

4. How long does the battery last? Do people charge up at work?

5. What are the total minimum MUST HAVE safety gear? I have seen people suited and booted and then those with no safety gear.

6. Do people get the extra warranty on these?

Any other important information you think I should know would be greatly appreciated 

Thanks

• Upvote 1

1 hour ago, Mini.mina said:

Questions:

1. Are there any restrictions on using a device like this? Will the police stop me?

Yes. It's illegal and the police can confiscate the EUC. Afaik.

But here are many riders from the UK - so they can give you more details...

Your other legal option is a bicycle which I don't recommend. I subscribe to several bike magazines and apparently London has seen a dramatic rise in bike thefts (and scooter thefts) over the past years.