Advice for riding in the rain?

Eric Jorgensen

I started riding my NB1E in Seattle this summer when it is nice and dry, but soon the rains will come and I am not sure at all what to expect.  Is traction loss a problem?  Are there precautions to take?   What about riding with an umbrella?  Does the Ninebot kick up water? 

Anything you can tell me about riding in the rain would be much appreciated!

-e

In the rain I generally ride with my waterproof jacket and a pair of waterproof over trousers. I wouldn't use an umbrella in case the wind catches your or it covers your view (depending on the direction of the rain). The Ninebot doesn't kick up water (that will get you wet) and I haven't had any traction problems riding on pavements, roads, gravel, cobbles, dirt tracks, grass. 

22 minutes ago, Scully said:

Riding with an unbrella is OK for short distances, but it is a bit tricky - especially if the wind gets you!

Yeah wind is a beast - you don't want to end up Mary Poppins :D 

Hi,

For my personal experience, the best is to avoid riding in the rain, even if your wheel is waterproof, it can wear some elements faster. If you can't avoid it, then an umbrella is not recommended if there is wind, because it can make you loose your balance easily (unless you are a "pro").

The ninebot is waterproof, I have a friend who rides it everyday to work and for now (9 months) no issues. Just take what you would take while walking, an umbrella if there is little to no wind, avoid slippy areas, avoid deep puddles. In my experience it has the advantage to clean your wheel if you ride it fast enough ^^