Z10 as a beginner and only wheel?

Hi, EUCers!

Incoming newbie here seeking advice on whether it is advisable to get the Ninebot One Z10 as my first and only wheel. I have some skateboarding experience from my teen days but that's a whole lifetime ago. 

I am in Malaysia where Ninebot has an official presence and from whom I would purchase the Z10, so I believe support won't be as spotty as I see it is in US/EU.

Use case: I lie to myself that it will be commuting/mixed use but the truth is it will most likely be used purely for joyriding with some gratuitous errand runs thrown in to justify the purchase. I have both a car and moped for long- and medium-range transport. My workplace is about 6km (4 miles) from my home but I would just use my moped for that as it would be so much faster. 

I've actually booked the InMotion V8, thinking this should be my starter wheel. But I worry that I'll get bored of the 30km/h speed in a few short weeks. Although I suppose this also means that I am less apt to break my neck flying off a much faster wheel that I probably won't have learned to fully control yet, but I just can't keep lusting after the Z10.

Would really appreciate any feedback on my intended lunacy.

PS There aren't any sellers peddling KingSong and GotWay in Malaysia so it's just InMotion and Ninebot at the moment. For GotWay and KingSong, I'd have to make my way down to Singapore to pick them up.

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Welcome to the insanity forum @Fidgety Spinner!

If you are planning to only have one wheel then yes, it is probable that after you "get your roll on" you will find that 30 km/h will seem frustratingly constrained. So aiming for a wheel that you won't outgrow as easily makes good sense... Having said that, everyone's "first wheel" tends to take a fair bit more abuse than their subsequent wheels - this is the natural result of the learning curve.