Priorities for protective gear?

Let's face it, the majority aren't going to fully deck ourselves with helmet, pads for knees, elbows, shins, wrists, ankles. Unless you want to dress like a Stormtrooper, which I've thought about from time to time. But really, putting on *all* that protective gear for a commute type journey (as opposed to learning, or doing tricks) seems overkill. So what are order of priorities?

For me, it is wrist guards *always*, followed by inner shin guards more for comfort rather than protection. The rest I feel I get away with. If I'm going somewhere more hazardous, I might add the knee pads. The elbow pads are overkill. Whilst I was a beginner (or if I'm learning to ride backwards), high ankle covering shoes would be a must too. My only injury has been to ankles (multiple times - bruises and scrapes). Protection has helped me once when I landed on my wrists trying to go backwards.

What do you guys wear? Have you been injured due to not wearing protection?

As a separate question, I've seen two threads in this forum where people have badly injured themselves at the shin level. One from in front and one from behind (the poor chap who broke a bone). How do those injuries come about and is there sensible and worthwhile protection for that?

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My priorities have been helmet and gloves, plus long sleeve shirt and long pants. My first serious fall, I got some really bad road rash. The second big fall, I hit the ground but barely got a scratch thanks to the helmet, gloves, and shirt.

I wear triple 8 'hired hands' and that's all. They are 2-in-1 gloves and wrist splints. I love 'em.

At 31, and in relatively good shape, I'd like to think I can run-off (or stumble off) most incidents. Although I have a Lhotz I rarely if ever take it above 22kph.....the beeping is just too annoying.

I have some knee pads but almost never wear them.....