EUC for newbie

Lezhonka

I’m looking for an electric unicycle to fit my lifestyle. 

I’m an absolute beginner in mid 40s. Regular balance - I ride an electric scooter and bicycle, but no skates or skateboard. 
I’m tall and heavy: 6’4” and 240lbs fully equipped with a backpack.

Should I invest in a heavy duty wheel strong enough to survive my learning curve or start with an expendable “cheap” wheel?

I’ll be riding mostly on pavement, minimal off road. I don’t envision myself riding faster than 20 mph. Looking to use it for my daily 6 miles one way commutes to work - on a dedicated paved bicycle trail, no car traffic for the most part. I charge at work and at home, so the battery capacity is not a huge importance to me.

I’m an office worker (suit and tie), commuting for fun, not necessity. In inclement weather I will be driving to work.

What EUC would you recommend to me?
Thank you in advance

If you can afford it, start with a bigger wheel. Just invest in a lot of bubble wrap for the first 1000km. B)
There are two wheels for us fat folks: KS18L/KS18XL and MSX. Both of them will give you around 50-60km of range on one charge.

Bigger wheel means bigger stability - my MSX is way more stable than my previous KS16S. I regret buying KS16S - I pretty much destroyed it, it wasn't sturdy enough.

Since you plan to ride slowly, a normal 84V version would be better for you - the only advantage of 100V is more speed.

Both of those wheels should keep their value quite well if you ever decide you don't like unicycling. And if you are able to buy second hand, even better. :-)
Actually, since you plan to just do minimal offroad, KS18XL would probably be better - KingSongs have really good, 10/10 trolley handles. Meanwhile, MSX's handle is only 5/10.
InMotion doesn't have an 18' wheel and Ninebot One Z10 is not a good wheel from what I've read.

Edited by atdlzpae
  • Like 3