battery maintenance — storing an EUC for 3 months

jadekrane

• 10 months later...

I have some anecdotal experience to add to this.  I have a V8F but it's my "daily driver" so I always maintain it fully charged and at 1100 miles the range hasn't dropped.  I get at least 20miles riding hard, or at most 26 riding leisurely.  But I also have a Gotway Mten3 that I ride more occasionally, only 250 miles in about 18 months, and when I do ride it's often for short trips and then I've been putting it back on the charger and letting the BMS decide what to do.  But then for a couple of months I didn't touch it and it was on the charger (light green not red), now EUC World is telling me that my 520Wh battery drops 20% in the first mile, and if I ride it to tilt-back I can only go 16.7 miles.  Curiously my neighbor bought an Mten3 also, and after a year he wasn't riding it so I asked what happened and he told me the battery went bad.  Does Gotway use low-quality (like unbalanced cells or a "dumb" BMS) batteries in the Mten3 or would any brand/model do this?  Do I need to manually manage battery maintenance?  Can a battery be reconditioned?  How does anyone have an entire collection of unicycles, I like having a ready spare?

After reading https://noaio.com/en/how-to-maintain-batterylife-of-euc-and-scooter, I'm thinking about putting the charger bricks on a timer so they come on overnight, gives the battery time to cool down and charge during the coolest hours.  The article also mentions a "Charger Doctor" which let's you pick a charging threshold below 100%.  Supposed to extend battery life, but could also help riders who live on a hill...

I would charge / discharge batteries at half, open the wheel and disconnect the batteries from the controller. Why risk any drain?

I had the batteries outside the wheel for 11 months while my wheel was waiting for repairs.

All packs had the same voltage when we measured them after all that time. (No measurements in between)