Riding strategies for the long-footed?

brockj

Hi all!

I'm relatively new to EUCs, started with a King Song 18XL a couple of months ago. From what I understand, the 10" pedals on the new King Songs are the largest in the biz, which is great for my size 12 US feet (EU size 46 I think?), from what I understand... but my feet still exceed the pedals, so I have to make some hard choices about where to put them :D

I have found the greatest stability with my heels flush or nearly flush against the back of the pedal, as depicted below. The downside here is that the front of my toes have a hard time relaxing.

Can others with long feet recommend any strategies to keep the feet better relaxed? How do you deal with this kind of thing?

mFwYO4G.jpg

• Like 2

not sure what you mean, but if you are talking about fatigue, then you need to just keep your feet moving.  by riding, you are constantly applying pressure to the front half of your feet.  longer riding requires just lots of tired feet.  numb feet.  to help, you either get off and rest or move one foot and then move the other foot when riding if you don't want to get off.  the other option is to get a wheel with a seat.  

24 minutes ago, eddiemoy said:

not sure what you mean, but if you are talking about fatigue, then you need to just keep your feet moving.  by riding, you are constantly applying pressure to the front half of your feet.  longer riding requires just lots of tired feet.  numb feet.  to help, you either get off and rest or move one foot and then move the other foot when riding if you don't want to get off.  the other option is to get a wheel with a seat.  

Thanks! yes, for me it starts as discomfort and turns into fatigue.

I'm still working on moving my feet a bit while riding. I guess that is the best I can do. It's challenging when I'm so far forward already.. best I can do now is squeeze my toes :D 

Pedals on all EUCs are too small. Make them bigger and all your foot problems are solved.