Moved from France to UK - what a disapointment! Tips wanted

Greg_

Hello there,

I am a French student pursuing my studies at the University of Kent in Canterbury. I've used a unicycle daily for the past three years in France without a problem, ever (fell a few times but well that only injures myself).

Fast forward to today, I got pulled over by policemen because "these are illegals". I was astonished and didn't believe them at first, but well it seems to be true. I'm a little bit stupid (and didn't fancy walking for 4 km) so I replied that I won't use it again and used it again. My luck strucked and I met the same police officers one hour later (I used bike ways everywhere I could but that wasn't enough!).

They very clearly said to me that they'd confiscate my unicycle if they see me on it again.

I won't expand on how stupid is this, y'all can very well see and don't need another rant here.

However I'm asking for a few tips:

• If I get an insurance (I've read that the French insurer Allianz does insurance for EUC) ; can they confiscate my EUC or just fine me?
  • Would contacting the mayor and the MP a good idea / useful in any way? I am not really used to UK's politics.
  • Sounds stupid, but if I put 3 other wheels that does not even roll and a stupid licence plate, does that work?

Thank you very much!

Have a great day!

Greg

• Like 2

33 minutes ago, Wonderwebb said:

Get a faster EUC and dont stop for anyone ! 

Return to France where laws have caught up .

:D:D:D

I'm going back to France in about 9 months anyway, but that doesn't make me feel welcomed in the UK haha.

---

I've also read somewhere you maybe you can register it as a vehicle for assisted mobility. Is it true/doable?

Thank you

I can imagine your level of frustration, and I would be depressed in your situation.

Yet there appear to be so many British riders here on the Forum and other places, posting videos, etc. and apparently have zero problems riding their EUC's.