Gear for a beginner

Finally decided to get the V8s. Can I just get skating style wrist guards and helmet at the beginning while I learn? 

I would hate wasting time to gear up and down, I just wanna ride here and there for a short time without needing to protect everywhere...

Any good set to get outthere, like amazon?

Edited by Bronson
  • Like 1

30 minutes ago, Bronson said:

Finally decided to get the V8s. Can I just get skating style wrist guards and helmet at the beginning while I learn? 

I would hate wasting time to gear up and down, I just wanna ride here and there for a short time without needing to protect everywhere...

Any good set to get outthere, like amazon?

It's very much a matter of personal taste and your own comfort level but for what it's worth I only started with exactly what you are proposing - a skate helmet and skate wrist guards.  It was only as my confidence grew and I started riding faster and pushing the boundaries that I upscaled my protective gear.  This is only my opinion but I felt that as soon as I was going faster than what I could 'run out' if I came off the wheel then I wanted a full face helmet and some elbow and knee protection.

• Like 2

Opinions will vary greatly. I learned in blue jeans and a t-shirt. :)  I'm of the method that if it isnt quality and comfy, its a waste of money. When I decide to ride like a fool, sometimes I don flexmeters. Amazon is evil....

Grats on the new wheel!

• Like 1

I used Triple-8 skate gloves in my first year of riding. I was lucky, as I did not have any hard faceplants on concrete/asphalt in my cinderella year.

The following year I had a slow stumble forward one day from a stationary position and hit squarely on the metal skid plates. I felt a hard shock travel straight through my wrists up my arms. I then knew how lucky and foolish I had been.