Soldering XLR to C36 (Lenovo) cable

njay

I'm planning to buy a KingSong 16X next month and want to use my Cycle Satiator to charge it.

The problem is that CS has a 3-pin XLR charging output but the 16X has C36 (Lenovo) charging ports. It doesn't look like there's a commercial XLR-C36 cable  so I'm thinking of making my own.

My plan is to solder a XLR cable to this one. The XLR has 3 wires but the C36 end only has two. 

I'm new to soldering, what should I do with the ground wire?

44 minutes ago, esaj said:

Scratch the above, the Cycle Satiator can only go up to 60V DC, so it cannot provide enough voltage to charge your wheel. Sorry.

Models

At present, we have designed 3 models of the Satiator charger optimized for different voltage ranges all sharing the same great feature set and firmware. The 48V 8A and 72V 5A models are both in full production, while the 24V 15A model is available for samples from interested OEM parties.

Model Name 2415 4808 7205
Max Voltage 36V 63V 103V
Max Current 15A* 8A* 5A*
Typical Batteries 12-24V 24V-52V 36V-84V

*Current also clamped by 360 watt power limit

• Like 2

16 minutes ago, z3n said:

Models

At present, we have designed 3 models of the Satiator charger optimized for different voltage ranges all sharing the same great feature set and firmware. The 48V 8A and 72V 5A models are both in full production, while the 24V 15A model is available for samples from interested OEM parties.

Model Name 2415 4808 7205
Max Voltage 36V 63V 103V
Max Current 15A* 8A* 5A*
Typical Batteries 12-24V 24V-52V 36V-84V

*Current also clamped by 360 watt power limit

Thanks for the heads up, so it needs to be the 7205 to charge the KS 16X (20S = 84V battery pack). Edited my post above.

• Like 1

I have SS, too, it can charge up to 100V (24s) batteries. It's great to have programmable voltage and current!