Respect the King

Maximus

So, I've been riding my V8 for about 3 months now, no problems, and I've pushed the wheel pretty hard.

In contrast, I've been riding my new KS-14C for about one day and I now have my first official faceplant :facepalm:

It was everything I thought it would be. First off, it had to happen in front of three young dudes shooting hoops. I cruised by playing some Bob Marley from the sweet KS speakers and then turned around at the end of the road and proceeded to crank back past them....I heard the beeps warning me that I was going too fast, but before I could back off and lean backward the wheel just stopped. My whole body fell forward like I was in slow motion. I tried to put a foot down but I was going about 15mph, so running this out was not going to happen. All I remember was my hands going forward and the realization that I was going to take huge digger in front of these guys. Much to my surprise, I popped up rather quickly. My wheel bounced around a bit, but I was in one piece!  It was a miracle. My fleece jacket wasn't ripped, I was in shorts, not even a scratch on my knees!  My wrist guards were ground down quite a bit, but only on the plastic, none of the leather or glove material was damaged. I hit my elbows pretty hard and had road rash, but oddly no damage to my clothes other than some tears of my shorts by my left hip. I'm sore. I can tell the brunt of the fall was obsorbed by my wrists and hip, but all in all I feel extremely fortunate.

My ego took a hit, but on the plus side it has served as a reminder to slow down. It also is a reminder of how awesome the inmotion wheels are. Seriously, I've pushed the limits of my V8 and no concern even entered my mind about it cutting out.  I like the KingSong wheel, right up until it cut out I was thinking "damn, I might like this more than my V8!"...

Anyway, for any new rider of a KS-14C, be careful, and wear your safety gear :)