I want a faster EUC for under $500. Any recommendations? Or possible upgrades to my current one.

OralOperator

I bought a generic EUC off of eBay about two weeks ago. I love it. I ride it to school everyday (I'm in dental school). It saves me a bunch of time over walking. 

I really have no complaints about my $225 unit, except that I would like to go a bit faster. I don't need scary speeds or anything, but this one is limited to 10 km/h which is just a bit too slow for me. 

I was reading a bit in the DIY forum and saw that some people were talking about a V2 control board that allowed for faster speeds, but all the links were old and broken. I've got lots of experience with electronics and wouldn't mind changing out the board myself. I've already had to open it up to tinker a little, and it seems pretty basic. I attached a pic of the internals of mine. 

Thanks!

image.jpeg

Just get a good used one, that's what i would do. I have noticed that there is very little choice to be found in the gap between the generic ones for a similar price like yours and the really nice ones for $800 or $1000.

@OralOperator, you will find pretty much what you are asking asked here: 

Just remember to go faster Safely requires power, both power from the motor and the ability of the battery to deliver that power. It is highly likely that a cheap wheel may have both a low power motor and poor battery - it also may not, so you will need to be careful that any change you make does not exceed that which your motor and battery can cope with or you will go faster than you intended .......... without the wheel beneath you.

Unless you love both experimenting and danger @mhpr262's suggestion could be the better one.

Having said that, at least if you faceplant you'll be able to get the dental work done cheaply ;-)