14 vs 16

GenghisRoy

Hi I'm a noob. I've gotten stoked on these things. Bought a 14" generic that I'm sending back. Hurts the shins too much with its zero padding and 90 degree angles. I'm kinda drawn to the v5f+ coming out, but also like the 9b1e+ for the price and apparent reliability. Just wondering your thoughts on 14" vs 16". FYI I'm 6'2" 175. 

If you cut up some pieces of carpet underlay and tape them onto the sides of the box it makes these much more comfy to ride.  Other people use shin guards, but the taped on padding seems to work fine for me.

Forwardca still has the Ninebot One E+ on sale for $449.99 for the blue edition, $499.99 for the Flame and $549.99 for the classic white.

https://www.forwardca.com/products/ninebot-one-e-special-edition-blue

The Inmotion v5f looks like a nice wheel with some solid engineering behind it.

I did a poll once, and I think most people seem to prefer the 16" size vs the 14" yet there seem to be more model choices with the small diameter wheel.  You should be fine with either choice, but the larger wheel makes going over bumps easier.

45 minutes ago, GenghisRoy said:

Just wondering your thoughts on 14" vs 16". FYI I'm 6'2" 175. 

I'm 6'2" as well (but maybe a wee bit heavier). Being taller means a higher centre of gravity, and I feel the larger 16" wheel gives more stability...

The pedal height of 14" wheels, in my experience, makes them less agile than the 16". The higher pedal height of the 16" allows me to to do sideways' leaning/tilting when cornering at high speed. The 14" would scrape the floor and get me ejected if tilted too much.

5 minutes ago, edwin_rm said:

The pedal height of 14" wheels, in my experience, makes them less agile than the 16". The higher pedal height of the 16" allows me to to do sideways' leaning/tilting when cornering at high speed. The 14" would scrape the floor and get me ejected if tilted too much.