Just got V11 and love it - Now wondering what non-suspension wheel feels like?

baobui

Hey guys, I'm new to to the forum. I recently bought a V11 from another member here. It is my first wheel and I really like riding it, although it did take me a couple days to learn. I owned an electric skateboard and scooter before, and this by far is the most fun and versatile.

The topic I'd like to discuss is what are non-suspension wheels like? I can imagine, but I'd like to hear from riders here that have experience on both. Do I "need" a non-suspension wheel too? Not that I have the money for another wheel, but I want to understand more of the dynamics. So far the V11 is the perfect wheel for me as far as I can tell. I mainly ride in empty parking lots and bike paths, ride alongs with bikes, etc. Cheers!

• Like 2

If you're happy with your v11, you don't NEED another wheel, unless you need more range/speed/power or more portability. Even so, you'll want another one, no matter how many you have. The difference bewtween suspension and non, is a little more slight than people would like to believe. I personally think wallets have a little to do with it.

• Like 2

This is surprising but interesting query nonetheless. I heard someone (choochtech I think) say to be careful riding a normal (NS) wheel  if one started on suspension & IMHO, that's true.

To my experience, there's no difference or very little if one rides on smooth pavement/tarmac. Where the V11 would gloss over (or at least ameliorate), a NS wheel will begin to let you feel every little ruts, bumps, potties even if they're on the smaller scale. Jumps off/on curbs will provide an impact force to your knees & maybe back as well. Ofcos, differences in rider weight & size of wheel will have different effects.