Using an EUC to charge a laptop

Kenzi

Hey I'm an electronics engineer!

My EUC has an 800Wh battery, and I have never used more than 50% in a single trip.  I love going to coffee shops and parks to get work done, so why not tap into that enormous potential to power my laptop all day? That'd cover me for more than 8 hours, even on ridiculous workloads like VR gaming.

So I bought a cheap power supply that can drive my laptop using 30-90V, which is more than the range of the battery pack.

I'm using an MCM5, and I've found that charger pins 1 and 2 go directly to the battery for charging, but it appears that something (possibly around the BMS) doesn't really like power going out of the charging port, so now I'm considering alternatives.  Before I pull this apart, I'm wondering if anyone has suggestions or guidance - perhaps someone who's seen and understood the insides, like @RagingGrandpa?

5YPzgNL.jpg

• Like 3

Why don't you just tap directly into the battery outputs (via the board to save having to tap into both packs further up the chain), and screw a panel mounted socket to the EUC case somewhere.

I must admit, I wouldn't like to draw any significant current out of the charge port. 

No idea about electronics but couldn't you use the USB output from your wheel then put that through a USB to USB-C converter then use that to power a laptop? Obviously you'd need a fairly new laptop to power it via USB-C but I assume you'd have that if you're doing VR Gaming. If not you could use this as an excuse to buy a new laptop - the new 5800u processors from AMD are coming out soon as are the new mobile RTX 30 series GPU's. 

1-2A at 5V, so you get 5-10W at best out of usb port. Normal laptop chargers usualy have around 60-100w+ (look at the label of your charger). Can you tap 12-20v somewhere in the wheel, maybe from the lights?

Edited by DangerDan

5 minutes ago, Planemo said:

1A at most? Will a laptop run on that?