What's the finest wheel that could be made with today's technology?

LanghamP

Man, I love wheels; they are like motorcycles that I used to love but with much less the cost and the danger. :)

"Finest" can mean different things for different people. I should think we'd had "finest fastest wheel", "finest safest wheel (that goes at a reasonable speed)", and "finest cruising wheel".

I'm not an engineer and titanium, aluminum, and magnesium are just cool-sounding metals that make me want to buy something over plain steel.

I'm completely guessing  with no basis of evidence that right now we could if money was no object make a wheel that could go 100km/h with a rider that weighs 100kg, and weighs under 50 pounds.

Hey, just a guess. Thoughts?

Xiaomi's new two wheel scooter. It is a robot hidden inside a Segway. Or the swan like EUC you can find in the Aliexpress. Last year I saw some Chinese guy made a ring like EUC, hollow in the center, but it remains a prototype.

I personally wish all new EUC come with built-in seats and handles. They are essential to the function of EUCs. Strangely most of new EUC either comes with a seat, or a handle. The ones have both sucks. Why is that?

On 5/23/2017 at 6:36 PM, LanghamP said:

Man, I love wheels; they are like motorcycles that I used to love but with much less the cost and the danger. :)

"Finest" can mean different things for different people. I should think we'd had "finest fastest wheel", "finest safest wheel (that goes at a reasonable speed)", and "finest cruising wheel".

I'm not an engineer and titanium, aluminum, and magnesium are just cool-sounding metals that make me want to buy something over plain steel.

I'm completely guessing  with no basis of evidence that right now we could if money was no object make a wheel that could go 100km/h with a rider that weighs 100kg, and weighs under 50 pounds.

Hey, just a guess. Thoughts?