Vinyl wrapping pedals on Inmotion V5F+

xebeche

Thought about how to improve the look of scratched pedals on my Inmotion V5F+ and friend suggested I could try with some vinyl wrap.

Here are some photos before and after:

r1.jpgr2.jpgr3.jpgr4.jpg

Think it's not bad for a first try :) 
It might even serve as protection because the wrap is quite thick.

6 minutes ago, Jason McNeil said:

Look great, especially the CF finish! Working on getting these mass produced, so that the Wheel need not get scratched up in the first place. 

you mean like that the outer shell comes wrapped in vinyl from the factory or some other kind of protection?

Good work on getting it to curl around the corners. That can be really difficult to achieve without wrinkling. nice effort.

Looks good, But it wont last. I was a sign writer for 7 years and and I can tell you that vinyl offers less protection than a coat of paint. It will scratch and tear easier. In areas that are not flat or get dirty, they are prone to peeling up. Not only that, the dents and chips that are covered up with it will show through. The CF pattern you have chosen is the closest you will get to being able to hide this but in the right light they will still show through in time when the glue flows out and, heat makes the vinyl conform to the metal. You can use it for protection the pedals but you will find that you need to replace it frequently. Might be a good temporary way to make your wheel look nice for show or sale. Kinda like using tyre black on your car. It looks nice but it will not stay that way forever.

• 2 weeks later...

A little bit of Auto Door Trim will prevent further scratches on either new pedals, or if you've already covered them.  Only the Outer Edge needs it.  The lower strip in this photo was not necessary.

There's enough in this package to do it MANY times!  http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/detail/AVD0/S37200/N0546.oap?ck=Search_door+trim_N0546_5215206_2577&keyword=door+trim&pt=N0546&ppt=C0065