Spinal protection?

Snurre

Last week while floating along at walking speed my cheap Airwheel X3 threw me off backwards (instant tilt-back?). I am a newbie but I have been able to ride back and forth through the neighborhood for a few days without falling except for the occasional bail-out where I always landed on my feet. I have been riding a lot in the "beep region" but never at tilt-back speed but I guess my 83kg was just too much for that wheel. My body hit the ground in a L-fashion with an erect, vertical back and my legs flat on the asphalt. Judging by the welts on my hands, they probably took some of the blow but it was mostly my spine that got hurt and I still have some mid-back pain although it will probably heal well in a few weeks.

The irony of it is that, having read up on (and experienced) the X3 limitations, I had already ordered a new wheel (Inmotion V8 from WheelGo) which I will be picking up today at the post office. From what I hear, the probability of such an incident happening on a newer construction should be near zero. However, a grain of doubt has now been planted in my mind and I conjure up all sorts of worst-case scenarios: Could perhaps this specimen out of X thousand be a faulty one? Skidding on wet leaves, hit by bikes, cars, etc. It's my spine I am worried about. Apart from my head it's the one thing I would hate to mess up.

To get some peace of mind and to regain my rider's confidence (gotta get back on that horse) I thought I would go find some back protection to use while recuperating but I can't seem to find anything that offers axial protection for the spine. Does anyone have any experience with this or will I have to resort to wearing a pillow on my butt?

Great! Thanks, @HunkaHunkaBurningLove! The name of the first item seems appropriate. I can see it useful also for my MTB and roller skiing so I going to order a pair right away.

10 hours ago, Snurre said: