Foot cramps. Any tips?

Tritzzy

So I am just learning but my learning is being slowed quite a bit due to terrible cramps in the foot that I put all my weight on to get onto the unicycle. 

I am a overweight dude (I am working on it heavily) so I know that doesn't help. But any other tips would be much appreciated. 

You are using feet muscles that have never been used like this ever before! They need to get in shape. This should pass with regular riding.

I have to move my feet around. Just raising my heels or toes helps. Take breaks and walk for 20 yards. Make sure you are well hydrated.

Also try to be aware of your feet... are your toes clenching? Do you feel like you're riding on the inside or outside of your feet? I try to ride with weight as equally distributed as possible—bending at the ankles rather than transferring weight to the balls of my feet.

• Like 2
  • Upvote 1

7 minutes ago, Tawpie said:

You are using feet muscles that have never been used like this ever before! They need to get in shape. This should pass with regular riding.

I have to move my feet around. Just raising my heels or toes helps. Take breaks and walk for 20 yards. Make sure you are well hydrated.

Also try to be aware of your feet... are your toes clenching? Do you feel like you're riding on the inside or outside of your feet? I try to ride with weight as equally distributed as possible—bending at the ankles rather than transferring weight to the balls of my feet.

Definitely clenching my toes hard, I think I need to put my feet back further on the pedals, but yeah I am currently just doing like 5-6 10 minute training sessions a day. 

It's normal. Some adjustment can be made later to fine tune things, but as you're starting out it's probably best to just relax and increase your riding time incrementally.

Adjust the tire pressure. It needs to be in balance with your weight. Not just pumped up hard.