Starting a multi-mile decent with a full battery (v11)

BlckRck2014

I am new to EUC's and my v11 is my first.  I am loving it so far.

With my Tesla (car), if my car battery is at 100% charge the engine breaking will not engage and I have to use normal (wheel) breaks.  I believe it is a safety function so that the batteries are not over charged.

What happens on a EUC if my battery is 100% and I begin a ride is a decent ahead of me?  Will it cut-off?  Will it warn me and stop me from riding?  If so, should I start this kind of ride with a reduced battery level?

Edited by BlckRck2014
  • Like 1

• BlckRck2014 changed the title to Starting a multi-mile decent with a full battery (v11)

It will tell you to stop because of overcharge and tilt you back. If you ignore this you may cut-out yes. Starting these rides with reduced battery is indeed a good idea.

Going slow, not braking hard, carving also helps with this.

Edited by Ádám Szitás
  • Like 1

Kind of difficult to read with all the adds (couldn't find a clean source) but this mining truck does just that. The regenerative braking from going downhill fully loaded is enough to cover most of the energy uphill empty. Really cool, also fun that it could have been done with a spring or other energy storage.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Ádám Szitás said:

Going slow

Theory is fun sometimes:

If we're describing a ride where you need to descend 500 vertical feet and then come to a stop, the amount of energy absorbed due to the grade is the same whether you do it quickly or do it slowly.

And the more quickly you ride, the more wind resistance. Wind resistance is a 'braking' force, which helps reduce the load on the motor and batteries when descending.

So, for the same vertical distance, I expect cruising downhill at 25mph creates less regeneration than cruising downhill at 10.