Slow progress on MCM5?

Marcho

I've been learning to ride a Gotway MCM5 unaided for more than two months now, managing about half an hour on most days. I've got to the stage when I can just about step on the machine and set off, though it's wobbly at first and sometimes I still fall off immediately. I can just about lean back and stop the thing, but it usually swerves before it comes to a halt and I have to jump off.

Once on the move, I can more or less straighten up and ride along a flat bit of road, but it's a tense business. If I dare to relax and let my concentration lapse for even a second, the machine swerves off and I lose control. I've fallen flat on my face a few times that way.  Or I jump off and the thing goes skidaddling off down the road and beeping and I'm left nursing a bruised shin.

I don't want to give up, but seem to be making slow progress. Has anyone else had a similar experience?

• Like 1

AFAIK you just need more time riding. Muscle memory will form and it will get easier. Try not thinking about it, don’t look at the wheel. Do some distance going somewhere. If you feel unsafe gear up if you haven’t already. 
If anything you should not have to concentrate on riding.

While one does get better just by riding, think about the amount of practice you get at each particular skill when you go for a ride. For example if you go ride for 30 minutes, you might get 25 minutes of practice riding & turning, but only a few attempts at starting/stopping.

Once you can ride comfortably for many minutes at a time with little trouble, most related skills will continue improving just by riding, but I would argue one could still benefit from practicing just starting/stopping over and over again in those first weeks since that will likely be your weakest skill--and the difference between practicing it or just letting it get better naturally could be the difference between mastery in a few weeks versus in a few months.