Best suggestions for shoulder protection

All,

Please excuse the newbie post. I'm at that point where I am forced to buy a faster and more powerful wheel because even though I am perfectly happy at age 51 to be tooling around the local parks at 15 mph or less, my One S1 simply has nowhere near the range I need. So, a 16XL has been ordered so that  the wheel does not limit how long, within reason, I want to ride.

I am fully on board with the need for gear. I will have a full face helmet and have been riding with the usual knee and wrist protection, and open faced helmet. The one injury that I think haunts most of us is a shoulder dislocation or similar. We can be philosophical about the need to tuck and roll, but we know well enough that face plants happen in a flash, and we are basically hard wired to extend out arms to protect ourselves. Wrists and hands fair well, but I struggle to choose what offers the best shoulder protection. My background is in medicine, so I know the physics of shoulder injuries is not so directly tied to padding/support or the absence thereof as it is with knees, elbows, and wrists. If @Marty Backe sees this, I know you took a bad fall and broke your shoulder. In retrospect, do you think the 5.5 body armor you are wearing now would have helped to protect your shoulder?

So.....with money not being a big factor (because you only get to eff up a shoulder once), what gear do you think offers the best protection for reducing (of course not eliminating) the likelihood of shoulder injury in a fall? I know that we can't ride in a plastic bubble, but I also know that a lot of you have taken some wicked falls and lived to tell the tale because of gear. I just want to learn the most I can about the shoulder protection.

Thanks so much.

Ben

• Like 2

• meepmeepmayer changed the title to Best suggestions for shoulder protection
44 minutes ago, jonm42 said: