devvdude

As most of you know I am a novice, having had my wheel a little over a week now. I have been having issues mounting without the training wheels as some of you may know. I believe I have solved this problem however. I am in the process of modifying a generic bicycle kick stand for the unicycle.

The way I will have it set up is so it is spring loaded, and will help keep the one side balanced when I mount, It will be on a very sensitive spring loaded system, and so as soon as the unicycle begins to move forward it will kick the kickstand out from under the pedal and the spring will catch pushing the kickstand flat against the bottom of the pedal.

In theory this should eliminate the need for the wheels to mount, and also eliminate the need to do the one foot push off technique in the video you all posted for me the other day.

Has anyone ever tried this? Why have the unicycle companies not thought of this? or have they thought of this and just not been able to make it work properly?

Anyone know?

I am going to buy the parts for it today and should have a working model by the end of this weekend.

If I do get the design perfected I will be sure to share with everyone.

The goal will be for the kickstand to be multi purpose, to keep the unit from falling over when not in use, and to help people like myself mount the unicycle without the assistance of wheels/a wall/fence/sign what ever.

Any input or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Devv

Interesting idea to use it as a mounting aid! There have been a few EUCs that included a kickstand but all that I have seen were the lean-to-one-side type. The Firewheel had a kickstand originally built into one of the pedals, but I think it had some problems so they took it off last year before I got mine. The Dolphin F-Wheel has a kickstand, you can see it here: http://www.fwheel.cc/Product-Self-Balancing-Electric-Unicycle/dolphine-one-f-wheel.html