Has there ever been an Mten3 fire?

I'm new to EUCs. I thought I'd done my research and landed on purchasing a Gotway Mten3 so I ordered from ewheels last week.   FedEx is having some sort of delay, so with nothing else to do while waiting for my new wheel, I've been reading the forum and FB gouprs and watching a ridiculous number of YouTube videos about EUCs. Now I've seen enough stuff about Gotway and lithium ion battery fires that I'm freaking out. I've got kids! I can't bring a bomb into my home! 

Has there ever been an mten3 fire? Do I need to be this worried??

• Like 1

I haven't seen nor heard of a Mten3 fire & I've cutoff mine & tossed it a number of times. As in anything powered with Li-ion, there's always a possibility of thermal runaways resulting in fires. If you're losing sleep over it, I'd get a fireproof steel safe for charging & storage duties if it were me. IMO the best would be a nuclear proof underground doomsday bunker😁

1. Haven't heard of an mten3 fire
  2. The latest round of fires seem to be related to the 21700 type of cells used in all the current wheels (in my opinion, at least). The mten3 has 18650 type cells, as were used before. There never were any fire issues with those. The "mass" of EUC fires is a newer phenomenon, and I blame the 21700s.

That's not a guarantee, but I wouldn't specifically be worried about a fire with the mten3.

39 minutes ago, meepmeepmayer said:
  • Haven't heard of an mten3 fire

Didn't some mten3 once have a battery pack internally split in two and just connected with a single nickel strip - which got very hot?

• The latest round of fires seem to be related to the 21700 type of cells used in all the current wheels (in my opinion, at least). The mten3 has 18650 type cells, as were used before. There never were any fire issues with those. The "mass" of EUC fires is a newer phenomenon, and I blame the 21700s.

+1.