second hand KS 18L / right or wrong version.

Hello my friends,

as some of you know I'm quite new with EUC's (older in age...61) and I have come to a very fast conclusion: Although I'm in love with my KS 16X, I need a second and in second hand wheel. Just to feel safe about and repair timings if my one wheel needs to stop. You see, in Portugal there aren't that many riders and hardly any repair shops to help me out. AND NO, I'M NOT A DIY GUY WHEN IT COMES TO MECHANICS... only with telescopes and astronomy...

So on the 2nd hand market here in Portugal I found, very close to me, two KS sellers and I have negotiated the price of either purchase to 900€:

- one KS 16x (like mine) but with about 1800kms

- one KS 18L (white) with much less kms on it (a little over 300kms). 

NOW MY BIG QUESTION (AND FEAR) IS ABOUT THE 18L: I've seen that there was a bad version and a good version, but I don't know how to distinguish one from the other. And if I decide to go for the Ks 18L I want it to be the right one.

CAN YOU GUYS PLEASE HELP ME?

Edited by Paulo Mesquita

I don’t know what you mean by a “bad version“, but the few things you should check when buying a second hand KS are:

- Fourth last character in the serial number (4th from the right) shouldn’t be a “P”. Those wheels will be locked when connecting to the KS app outside China, and they can’t be fully controlled by 3rd party apps.

- The charge level must reach 100% when charging. Otherwise the (expensive) battery is on its way out.

- Common check up before purchasing any 2nd hand EUC: Check that it starts up normally, rides normally, charges normally, and doesn’t emit any strange sounds.

• Like 1