Fire prevention

JonasJ

I read some in the fire history thread.

Would love for us to gather what we know that will prevent fire in the battery/lower the risk for fire in the battery.

What it seems like from what I read. This is mainly questions though for you more knowledgeable, I'm very new to this.

- Don't do battery modifications.

- Don't charge when you've just come home from a ride, wait an hour or so. Is this about letting it reach room temperature?

- If you've had a crash, the battery is susceptible for fire, so change battery pack?

- Store out of reach from flammable materials.

- To high or to low temperatures?

- If you don't charge it to 100%, make sure to do that a least one out of ten times.

What else do we know?

Edited by RagingGrandpa
(clarified title)
  • Like 1

2 hours ago, JonasJ said:

- Don't charge when you've just come home from a ride, wait an hour or so. Is this about letting it reach room temperature?

For extreme conditions like winter, yes. But more commonly to let the battery chemistry to settle down.

- If you've had a crash, the battery is susceptible for fire, so change battery pack?

The batteries are well protected on most wheels, so it would need a pretty tragic crash to damage them. Any kind of water intrusion avoidance is much more important.

What else do we know?

- Whenever the wheel stops charging to the full original voltage (+/- 0.5V), react and inspect immediately!

- If the wheel alerts for a voltage difference between the packs, watch the voltages like a hawk. 0.5V difference is normal, 1V is uncommon, and above 2V is alarming. Stop riding and charging, and investigate!

- Don’t ride in the rain unless you are certain about your wheel’s water protection levels.

- Don’t store a wet wheel on it’s side. The water can seep and drip into the batteries.

- Don’t try to charge faster than 0.5C rate (for example 10A on S22), or what your wheel and it’s connectors are rated for.