S18 Pedals Conversion to 4mm Screw-In Pins (The Ultimate upgrade from grip tape)

fbhb

• fbhb changed the title to S18 Pedals Conversion to 4mm Screw-In Pins (The Ultimate upgrade from grip tape)
3 hours ago, MurseMGV said:

I am new to EUC and had been wondering why no one seemed to use one of the various MTB pedal pins, though I am guessing that may be what the aftermarket pedal folks are using.

It's interesting that you raise the question about the minimal use of MTB pedal pins, because the majority of the aftermarket options are either using spikes or just regular set screws etc. for some unknown reason.  It is really hard to understand, as MTB pedal pins are widely available with plenty of different options and have obviously proven tried and tested on Downhill MTB's etc. during the extended length of time they have been around!

Personally, I am not a fan of an actual "spikes" being used especially if they are sharp enough to perforate your footwear and IMHO this option can actually be very dangerous.

@Rehab1, unfortunately had a very nasty accident and can vouch for how dangerous really sharp "spiked" pedal pins can be if you are unable to release from your pedals in an emergency!

Edited by fbhb

• 2 weeks later...