How to Ride the One Z

Rotciv

The Ninebot One Z has a completely different driving dynamics and requires different techniques that most of us are used to. I've had only a couple thousand miles across all my other euc which are the One S1 and KS14S, so I'm still learning. Below are some of my observations and learnings, and perhaps others can add their own.

Initial Ride: The One Z seems like it has a mind of it's own. When you want the wheel to go one way, it will either not react or go to a different direction. It will come to you once you put some miles on the wheel.

Going Straight: This is where the One Z excel. I think, after a few minutes of practice, anyone can get on this wheel and they'll be able to ride it and just go forward.

High Speed Curves: Taking a sweeping turn at around 10-15 mph is completely opposite to other wheels. With other wheels, I tend to bend my outside leg and let my weight tilt the wheel. With the One Z, I have to bend my inside leg, do a slight squat in, then push and tilt the wheel with my outside leg.

Sharp Turns: So far I can't make sharp 90-degree turns without slowing down. I think it's just physics; to make sharp turns, I have to reduce my speed.

Braking: The One Z10 is dense and has lots of momentum, but the brake is strong enough to make it feel similar to my other wheels. Once you actually stop and put one foot down, be prepared to hold it up with your other foot because it's heavy.

Low Speed Agility: Once I got more miles on the One Z and figured out the low speed dynamics, it feels like it's on magnetic tracks. Doing tight figure 8s and 360 is very effortless.

My Challenges: I can't ride across an incline, I always end up being pulled to the base/bottom. I get very uncomfortable doing downhill turns on bumpy roads, or sharp turns on bumpy roads. I feel like I don't have complete control of the wheel on bumpy sharp turns. Hopefully, I'll learn how to tackle these challenges as I put more miles on the One Z.