New rider, bit of help please.

Bit of history...1st saw euc August 17, tried to ride for 1/2 hour, fail.  Made it maybe 30 feet max.  2 weeks ago, did a couple of 20 minute sessions on some friends wheels at a fly-in (I'm a pilot) was able to actually go a few hundred feet at a time.  Got home and immediately ordered a Gotway acm2.  Now I've got maybe 2 hours, I can turn, and stay on the wheel for several miles without wiping out.

Questions:  As I accelerate it slows me down, it's kind of cramping up my shin muscles.  I gather this is called pushback.  How do I turn it off?  

I see an app is mentioned.  What is it called? Where do I get it?  How do I use it?

Basically any info will be helpful to me.  

Kyle O.

Welcome to a brand new world. ?   Yes what you're experiencing is "tilt-back" and you can turn it off using the app.  There are links to the app here:   http://www.kebye.com/content/?182.html

Occasionally they'll post updated or beta versions of the app on the Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/GotWay/

I usually completely turn off tilt-back, as well as the 1st and second alarms.

I also always use Sport Mode for the stiffest pedals.   It gives it more of a skateboard feel and the ride is more predictable.

Welcome!

I recommend that you keep your tilt back on for 2 weeks or until you feel comfortable with riding the wheel. I personally had myself set a goal to ride 1000 miles before I went faster than 10 mph. But @oolong is correct with the options. You can turn off the tilt back with the app. Just remember, higher speed means harder crash.

Perhaps adjust the tiltback to a higher setting before turning it off? If the tiltback is off, there is nothing preventing you from accelerating to the cut-off. That’s when the wheel will simply turn off at the maximum speed (45km/h?). It will be very painful even with full motorcycle crash gear, since you have zero time to react.

On 6/14/2018 at 6:39 AM, mrelwood said: