MCM5 100V Mod Possibilities

With Begode's new design direction moving towards heavy, suspension wheels, the probability of a lightweight (<40lbs), high-performance MCM6 seems pretty low.

Conversion of the MCM5 from 84V to 100V may be an appealing modification for those that want more power in a lightweight form factor.

I am not an expert in these types of mods, so I'm hoping that the community can help guide the process.

Control Boards

Since the MCM5 has a side-mounted control board, possible 100V replacements may include:

• Nikola Plus 100V
  • MSX 100V
  • MSP 100V
  • RS 100V
  • EXN 100V
  • Monster V3 100V (build exists)

While these are all side-mounted, there may be other factors that limit their usage in the MCM5

• dimensions (ability to fit inside the MCM5)
  • orientation (long side oriented vertically or horizontally)

Batteries

Let's look at possible 24s battery pack configurations. Many of these will be excluded due to the battery pack being unable to fit inside the shell. Another consideration is the pack's continuous discharge rate (CDR), a measure of the pack's ability to provide enough current when demanded by the control board. We should also consider voltage sag as the battery is depleted. With a small volume inside the MCM5 shell, it is best to go with "high performance" cells over "high capacity" cells to reduce sag.

24s3p NCR18650GA (10A)

• 24s * 3p * 3.7V * 3.5Ah = 932 Wh
  • 30A CDR
  • Unknown if it will fit inside shell

24s3p LG M50LT (14.4A)

• 24s * 3p * 3.7V * 5.0Ah = 1332Wh
  • 43.2A CDR
  • Unlikely to fit inside shell

24s2p LG M50LT (14.4A)

• 24s * 2p * 3.7V * 5.0Ah = 888Wh
  • 28.8A CDR

24s2p Molicel P42A (45A)

• 24s * 2p * 3.7V * 4.2Ah = 746Wh
  • 90A CDR

24s2p Molicel P45B (45A)

• 24s * 2p * 3.7V * 4.5Ah = 800Wh
  • 90A CDR

Firmware

Since we're taking a control board from a much larger wheel, the speed needs to be recalculated for the smaller diameter.