Learning to breakfall

In previous discussions of this subject some riders have suggested learning to break fall is a waste of time for EUC riders since accidents happen too fast to react.   I didn't weigh in at the time since I  hadn't been riding for very long.  Today I took a tumble and can say that my muscle memory kicked in and I did a forward roll  that along with my safety gear and back pack saved me from any injury at all.  True I wasn't going very fast at the time but still feel that a face plant would have had more consequences.   I'm not suggesting that it is a guaranteed way to avoid injury but personally was pleased to have that skill in the tool box today :-)  probably helped that we practiced them last night at class and I have been doing them for 43 years.  Anyway something to consider if you want to proactively be as prepared as possible for the inevitable spill.

• Like 3

As a beginner myself, I'm already a Ninja at the very skillful faceplant!
Being able to roll instead of slide has saved me a lot of skin being removed.
However, it doesn't work all the time. I was recently surprised by an unexpecte set of stairs (they jumped up in front of me!) I clenched the appropriate parts, vibrated down but one foot slid off. Instant very close inspection of the pavement (AKA - The Faceplant). Unfortunately, no time to roll on this one. Just as well I was wearing full safety gear!

The more 'safety skills' you can learn the better. I've been using breakfalls for about the same length of time. I can't count how many times the skill has saved me.

Proactive is far better for you than reactive  :D

• Like 1

7 hours ago, ElectronxCycles said:

Thank you I'm looking into this now, you mean like this?
BTW did your v11 cut out or?

Similar to this but less sideways and more full forward. 

Wasn't a cut out - misjudged the gap between two steel posts.