Looking to buy first EUC used. Is there something I should look for?

Hello folks! I'm brand new to the world of EUC and am looking to buy my first wheel. I don't have any experience, so I want to buy something used that I'm not afraid to beat up while learning. I'm 6 feet tall, 215 pounds and I'm not sure what would be a good fit for me. I will probably eventually use as a short commuter (I live really close to my job), but I'm not sure if there is anything that I should be looking for. Anyone have any suggestions?

I got V8F as my first one and it's a perfect starter wheel, also it's fun and works for short commutes (battery can last 30km as well if wish to extend the commute). I use it to teach others to ride and it has survived some.. very... painful.. drops.. until recently. Used probably should come in quite a reasonable price. 

I got Nikola+ later as an upgrade and love it (range and speed). But I would've hated the experience and wouldn't learn as quick if it was my first wheel - too heavy and bulky to learn on. Possible to learn on, ofc, but will take more time and unless you pad it up, learning damage will be quite visible and probably annoy you few months in. :D 

Cost me 50€ to swap V8F's shell and it looks great again. :)

Edited by Phonoman
  • Like 1

@Phonoman That is great feedback, thank you. I plan to pad the the wheel and invest in some decent gear. I didn't even think about swapping the shell out.

@Tawpie The wheels you suggest are the ones that I have been leaning toward, so it's very helpful to get confirmation. Thank you very much.

I think it will be either a V10F or an 18XL, whichever I can find used first. Just curious, are there any advantages one has over the other?

4 minutes ago, RotaRigorous said:

are there any advantages one has over the other?