Pads for beginners? Yes or No?

Redbeard

Hello

Im quite a new rider, and picked up an MSP HT 100v as my first wheel.

Seeing tons of recommendations to buy pads as a beginner i went ahead and bought the Red Trail Jump pads from Sai.

They fit the wheel like a glow and seems really good and durable.

But i have a problem, i have set the pads as high as possible on the wheel without it sticking out on the top, but i feel like my shoes needs force to be put in place, which as a beginner makes balance hell šŸ˜…

Is this how jump pads are supposed to be?

I'm a size 46-47 (12/13 us shoe size) are my feet to big for the pads? šŸ˜‚

Should I start riding without untill i got better balance?

Kind RegardsĀ 

• Like 3

Hmmm , I definitely would not recommend jump pads for a beginner. As a beginner you need to be able to moveĀ around.Ā Ā When they said beginners should use pads did they mean safety gear? ( knee pads , elbow pads )Ā Ā Or did they mean pads to protect your wheel from damage? ( bodyguard) I Donā€™t think they meant jump pads.Ā 

There are lots of different kindsĀ pads.Ā 

• Like 2

If you use velcro tape on the shell and the pads, you can easily move them around to get the perfect fit. Pads are without a doubt the best thing you can add to your wheel, climbing and trail riding are so much easier and you have infinitely more control. You will eventually want them to pretty much clamp down on your forefoot, and Clarke pads also have heel pegs too. Once you get confident on the wheel having tight pads feels like ski bindings, you'll wonder how you ever rode without themĀ 

• Like 1