Braking hard on KS 18XL 2000W

UniMe

I'm very new to EUC's and my first wheel is a KS 18XL 2000w. I'm progressing fairly well and enjoying the process.

I have noticed that if I brake hard on the wheel is starts to make a faint sort of grinding noise. As I get better at riding I'll probably be able to exert a lot more force on the wheel when slowing down and I anticipate there is a limit to how hard I can brake before some sort of overvolt situation happens. The obvious concern is that the wheel may fail in a hard braking situation and send me headlong into what I was trying to avoid i.e. a big truck, bus or... mother with a stroller?

Don't get me wrong, I'm a cautious person and not prone to reckless riding. Stuff happens though and like with any mobility device (car, motorcycle, bike) I need to understand the limits of emergency braking.

I'm using EUC World and thinking perhaps there is a value I can monitor on the app that will teach me when I'm at the mechanical limit of braking on the wheel. It's abundantly clear already that I can't skid the tire under any circumstances. I'm also a heavier rider at 235lbs and I have fairly strong legs for my size i.e. I'm getting older but have spent my fair share of time in a squat rack. I have a Tacx neo 2t smart trainer with a 2200 watt resistance motor for my bike that begins to slip at 88 newton meters and can easily overpower it in the first 3-4 lower gears when hill climbing, I'm guessing the EUC will slip in a similar manner at some point...

Edited by UniMe

10 hours ago, UniMe said:

I have noticed that if I brake hard on the wheel is starts to make a faint sort of grinding noise.

Could be just the control algorithm or overcurrent protection?

More possibilities could be loose axle/pedal hangers or motherboard. Or some cracks in the inner shell. All this could create a feedback loop while braking causing such a "resonance"/rattling sound.