New to EUC, which one to buy?

Andy_T

Hello all,

I am not only new to the forum, I am also new to EUCing in general.

I got interested in it when I saw a passenger in the Shanghai Metro carry one with him, step on it and wheel off some weeks ago. I was totally impressed and am considering to get one for myself.

What will I use it for? To be honest, I don't know right now. Currently I am commuting to work every day on my motorbike, which is suitable from its maximum speed and its robustness for the roads in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, where I live right now. The lack of even sidewalks makes it a bit of a challenge to use a EUC very much here, at least not for commuting to the area where my office is (industrial area). Still, it might get some recreational use for me and my kids (12&11) on the weekend, in parks. Nevertheless, I will go back to Germany in 8 months, and it seems that electric unicycles might be of more use there (until they are heavily reglemented by law, of course). I am also quite keen on environmentally friendly commuting, and electric motorbikes are not yet where I would like to have them... (at least not from the affordability point of view)

As I regularly travel to Shanghai and IPS seems to be a company with good products, I am looking at picking up one of their unicycles there (with the help of my local colleagues hopefully). So ... which model would be suggested? From the IPS website, it seems that the 121, 131, 132, 151 and 181/191 models might be available there, but I have not yet checked prices. Which one would be a good one to buy?

On one hand, I do not want to spend too much on such a fun vehicle, on the other hand I also don't want to buy some crappy unusable piece that will only collect dust in the future...

Best regards,

Andy

OK, have received quotes for price shipped to Shanghai directly from the IPS company.

IPS131 $580.00
IPS151 $800.00
IPS181 $580.00
IPS191 $630.00