Getting used to high pedals

I've been riding EUCs since 2018. During my travels my travels, I bought a V-11, but I didn't like it because the pedals were too high off the ground, about 6 inches. Since then, I dumped the V-11 and have been riding the 16x and have enjoyed it. But it's time for an upgrade as I've ridden close to 4000 miles on it and can no longer keep up in group rides. I'm interested in the Veteran Patton suspension wheel, but I'm hesitant because the pedals are even higher than the V-11, at around 9 inches.

Another thought that has crossed my mind is that if I can't get past the high pedal fear, I could leave the EUC world and join the bad-ass scooter crowd. No, I don't want a cheap-ass scooter. I want a bad ass one. But, I want to see of I can get over this fear first before I do something drastic like that.

Do you have any advice and calm my fear of riding on high pedals? How to jump on the wheel without falling over? I really need to upgrade and get over this high pedal fear. I'd appreciate any guidance you can offer.

Edited by Mike Petrogeorge
adding content

How tall are you and how much do you weigh?

A 16in seems to be the better choice, yes. Get one where you can adjust the suspension or pedal height. 

Obviously you're not going to be able to get the best of all worlds (suspension requires clearance) but if you can customize your pedal height maybe you can find an acceptable balance. 

• Upvote 1

Wouldn't it be ironic if you crash because your pedals clip something exactly when you need the suspension the most? Like at a bump somewhere.

So if you do lower the pedals remember that you can't 100% keep up with all the other riders. Which is why you're upgrading in the first place. 

Customizable pedal height is still the way to go I think but balance it carefully.

• Upvote 1