16X safe Amps

wehey

I’ve put about 100miles on the wheel and I’m growing in confidence.

I have been looking at the data in EUC World and have been hitting a maximum of 30A on the wheel.

I am thinking of setting an Amp alarm. What would be a good safe number to use?

Edited by wehey
Spelling

Ks wheels report battery current which is in no direct relation to mosfets or motor wire burden.

As overburden alarm value one would need the motor current as reported by gw/begode and leaperkim wheels or even better the rms of this motor current.

• Like 1

12 minutes ago, Chriull said:

Ks wheels report battery current which is in no direct relation to mosfets or motor wire burden.

As overburden alarm value one would need the motor current as reported by gw/begode and leaperkim wheels or even better the rms of this motor current.

30A fuse? I think he meant that? If he rides and hits often ~30A it will burn? (Sorry, i have very little knowledge of these thing..):D 

Same for my 18xl, i sometimes see a spike of ~28A.. At EucWorld Current/Speed tab.

The "safe" current draw depends on the cells used in the battery, and I don't know what's under the blue shrink-wrap.

But.

KS has a reputation of protecting the wheel at all costs... it's rare to hear of burned MOSFETs or batteries or nickel strips in the 16X, I think in large part to KS being very/overly conservative in their firmware and simply not allowing the rider to use more current than the nannies at KS deem wise. Blown fuses are known to happen to those that ride stairs, don't do that with this wheel. And don't ride the beeps either, because the nannies would rather you get up close and personal with pavement than let the magic smoke out of the electronics. (which seems harsh, but it makes sense… if the magic smoke does come out, you still eat sh*t and you have expensive parts to replace)