Getting into EUCs using Standing Desk Balance Boards (e.g. FluidStance)?

Hi all, newbie here.

I'm wondering if a Fluidstance balance board (for standing desk ergonomics) seems similar to EUCs from experienced perspective.

I'm using it to follow along with some 'learn to EUC' videos and I think the motions make a lot of sense. I think the main thing missing is how heavy the EUC is, and having a wheel to squeeze with your shins.

Unlike the Wii balance boards or the ones with two wheels on the end, you balance around a centre point in all directions. Here's a short video that shows how it's used. Any thoughts?

If someone confirms how similar it is, could be a decent way to practice balancing at home, or get the whole lot of people with these balance boards interested in EUCs!

p.s. I was thinking of replying to this thread, but standing desk office ergonomics seems pretty different from sports/hobbies.

• Like 1

It is not similar.

EUC has a vertical component that is controlled by the dominant leg. A common element of learning to ride EUC is controlling the wheel with one leg... doing semi-circles, riding a short distance on one leg etc. 

If you have to be standing around anyway, then something that helps boost endurance in the thighs could be useful.  Otherwise, considering those prices, you might as well get an actual unicycle.  Zero km/h for $250 puts a favorable light on even modest wheels.

• Like 2

I think a better simulation, and it's only a partial simulation, would be to secure a round dowel to a flat board. Orient the board+dowel so that it's tippy side to side but stable front to back, then keep that balanced—with your knees bent.