V11 vs KS16X safety for older guy; advantages & disadvantages.

Hello:

This is my first post on this wonderful forum. I am a beginner, 71 yo, having put 800 mi on my 16X. I love the wheel, but I had a couple of crashes on small potholes, which at my age, took months to recover from. The crash typically occurs when I don't notice a pothole. Having read about V11 and advantages of it's suspension, I started thinking, maybe that's the way to go? Will it be really much safer on bad pavement?

I have some concerns, though:
V11 is 8 lbs heavier, so, maybe it is harder to handle? Not as maneuverable?
I love, how my 16X does carving and I am trying to learn some tricks, like backwards riding (looks like it will take forever), so how do these two wheels compare from this standpoint?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Edited by AKSkipper
  • Like 1

A suspension wheel like the V11 will help you take some "edge" off, sort of like going from a mountain bike without suspension to another one with front suspension where you will feel bumps much more bearable on your arms. It will be a lot more comfortable and easier going over ruts and bumps than a non-suspension wheel on your legs, but you still need to pay attention to the road.

V11 is a great cruiser. While the increased pedal height may appear a lot less nimble like a SUV, but I had no trouble hanging out with e-bike riding reasonably fast on paved trails with lots of sharp turns. I'm sure you will like it.

• Like 1

14 hours ago, AKSkipper said:

Will it be really much safer on bad pavement?

More than you can ever imagine. In addition to the suspension, the V11 has an 18” tire, which rolls much easier over bumps.