Will infrequent use cause battery to die?

Ray Luo

Hi there, I'm new to EUC, and the closest-to-EUC thing I own is a ... (drum rolls) ... Roomba Vacuum machine, in terms of the shape. LOL

After reading some topics in this "which EUC to get" forum, I noticed that, experienced EUCers tend to say "it doesn't really matter, because you will own more than one EUC anyway". So, this scenario pops into my mind. Let's say you own 3 EUCs, so, on average each of them is only used 1/3 of the EUC-able time. Wouldn't such infrequent usage pattern have some negative impact to your battery's longevity? As a comparison, in second-hand market for electric-bicycles, it is not unusual to see listings saying something like "the e-bike is otherwise in good shape, just the battery dies due to not being used for months...". Would that also be a factor in EUC world, when an experienced EUCer maintains his/her EUC fleet, or when a new comer considering going to the used-market for his/her first wheel (which might be inactive for a while with its previous owner)?

• Like 1

13 minutes ago, Ray Luo said:

Roomba Vacuum machine

Do they already use li ion or are they still on NiCd? Sorry, I'm not up to date with them.

Anyhow - with Li Ion there is no real time problem if one rests the battery in some medium charge state at not too high or low temperatures.

Much fun riding your Roomba! ;)

• Like 1

Frequent or infrequent use doesn't matter. (If anything, infrequent is better because that's less charge cycles, and battery life is usually measured in charge cycles. But you buy the wheel to use it, after all;))

Charge to 100% regularly (and keep the charger in a few hours after the green light) to keep the cells balanced. Don't let the battery get too hot (keep in parked car in summer) or too cold (so it freezes). Don't store (~months) at very full or very empty state. That's all.