KS16a vs KS16b vs KS16c, and other KS questions

blindjoedeath

Hey, folks - just got my KS16 delivered last week from @Jason McNeil at ewheels, and while I COULD pester him with all my questions, I figured I'd throw this out to the crowd first. :-)

First off - I haven't ridden it yet (I'm a newbie, and want to protect it with foam, etc., first). But I unboxed it, charged it (turns out, it was close to full charge anyway), and tried to connect it to my Android phone (Nexus 6P, running Nougat) via both the KS official app that Jason sent me, and the WheelLog app.  WheelLog connected fine, but the KS app wouldn't. Any thoughts?  I know there were some older posts about this that I can use to troubleshoot.

Second - from the WheelLog app, I saw that I had the KS16c. What are the differences between the b & c versions? (I know "a" is really considered a beta version.)

Third - and this is more a rant than anything, but as others have said, I can confirm that the actual manual is crap (Jason's writeup is much better). I can't quite understand why (mostly) Chinese companies skimp on that portion of their product - for a few hundred/thousand bucks, they can get a decent English speaker to write a manual, but they don't - but they DO invest in great batteries, motors, etc. - the actual expensive stuff. Again, I'm not talking about just KingSong - visit any AliExpress store, and you'll see the same thing. I guess I'm wondering why this is? Doesn't make much business sense. <rant over>

5 minutes ago, blindjoedeath said:

First off - I haven't ridden it yet (I'm a newbie, and want to protect it with foam, etc., first). But I unboxed it, charged it (turns out, it was close to full charge anyway), and tried to connect it to my Android phone (Nexus 6P, running Nougat) via both the KS official app that Jason sent me, and the WheelLog app.  WheelLog connected fine, but the KS app wouldn't. Any thoughts?