Unable to Upgrade My Mini Pro

Newbie here with a firmware update issue. I will try to provide as much information as possible and I hope someone can help me, as I've found no one else who seems to be having this same issue (and I've done a lot of searching on the net).

I purchased my mini pro through Amazon and activated it on 8/26/16. I downloaded the Ninebot app through Google Play Store (version 3.6.4). I am using an LG-G3 (VS985 4G LTE) running Android version 6.0 ( which was updated on 8/10/16 VS98548A). My mini came with version 1.2.8 installed and the battery information indicates a production date of 5/30/16 (BMS firmware version V2.1.7). This is my starting point.

After downloading the app my mini was activated with no issues. I ran through the training tutorial and am now in the learning stage of the 6.3 mph before the speed is unlocked. After the tutorial, I was prompted to update my mini to version 1.3.1, which I decided to do after reading the negative reviews on 1.2.8. Here is where the problem begins.

After confirming that I want to upgrade, the software download notification starts and then the status circle begins. At every attempt, a "timeout" error message occurs stating, "Update of firmware of main control fails!". Sometimes it will only get to 20% before I get the timeout error. The best attempt made it to 60% before the failure and I've had every percentage in between.