Forward-Back Rocking at High Speeds

Hello. I have been riding for about 2-3 months now on my first euc,  begode ex30. It has 3 forward/back acceleration tilt modes: soft (extra tilt needed), medium (some tilt), strong (limited tilt). I learned on soft but as I get in the 44+ mph range I get severe forward/back rocking. 

I read a suggestion that this was due to too much weight on the front of the euc. I changed tilt settings to moderate to compensate. Now however,  no matter how much I lean forward or push down my feet I can't get above 40 mph. 

I then changed to strong and was able to get up to 44 mph without any front/back rocking however again I capped at that speed no matter how much I tried to lean. 

Has anyone dealt with something similar and what adjustments did you have to make?

Thanks. 

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Update: performed two different trials. I left the mode in strong and shifted my pads towards the rear so as I leaned my center of gravity was more centered on the euc. Couldn't get above 42 without having to exert a ton of force forward and feeling imbalanced. 

Trial 2 I shifted the pads forward. My original position had my shoes off the pedals by about an inch, now riding at about 1.5-2inches forward off the pedal. Easy to accelerate but again at 46-47mph experienced rocking and a little bit of wobble while turning. 

Hi @nikstykal!

Forward/Back rocking is most likely caused by the rider.

The EUC is "regulated" by a PID loop which dampens oscillations. Some EUCs have parameters set up more agressive, some with more dampening - but the determining factor is often the human input.

You for sure know the youtube vids of segway beginners starting to rock the segway more or less in the moment of mounting until they get rescued or fall off... Seems to be some "subconscious" muscular panic reaction which hinder the self balancing algorithm to work and instead causes oscillation.