2 Noobs- first try

KayakerChuck

My #1 tip: look where you want to go, do NOT LOOK DOWN! For the most part, down isn't where you want to end up...

Horray! Keep after it though, short (30 min) sessions with sleep in between. In a week or two this'll be one of the best purchases you've made in a while... but during that first bit of time, it'll feel like it's absolutely hands down the worst.

• Like 2

Thanks Tawpie!

Yup, I teach "look where you want to go", but knowing & doing are different- lol

I agree with the small bites & short sessions.  Especially since last week was a bit too much of carrying heavy things up & down ladders.  My legs (OK, all of me) are not 20 anymore.  

• Like 3

Sounds like you’re well on your way! I’m fairly new to this as well, it took a good week or so for me to feel semi comfortable. I found practicing till I was tired or frustrated was the best way. Each day you’ll see progress and at some point you will be riding around past the steep learning curve. It’s the closest thing to flying and a ton of fun.  Congrats on your journey. Looking forward to your progress. 

• Like 2

And think about protecting your ankles. The pedals can bite a Noob's ankles hard ... been there and got the T shirt! :crying:

Even with that, those 1st few weeks are the best. The learning curve is steep, but if you keep at it you will be climbing right up that curve which is the most satisfying part. There is nothing like learning a new motor skill. The exhilaration of the 1st semi controlled ride is really something! 

I started on a 16X also, in January. I had to work against the weather but was still rolling fairly good by March.

• Like 3

Wow- thanks for all the info!

I work alone, so I can sneak 5 minutes or so every hour or two to play with the wheel in my shop.  I'm gaining comfort on the thing, and occasionally making it the ENTIRE 20' to the other end- lol.  (I'm a former Windsurfing instructor- I'm weird enough to like steep learning curves.)