Is there a huge difference in ease of maintenance between brands?

p40whk

As a mechanic Ii usually look at how well things are built and haw hard the are to work on. Between Gotway/Begode, Inmotion, and Kingsong, is one brand better than the others at maintenance such as replacing tires, motherboards, and the standard parts that break often? There are tons of "what's the best wheel for me?" posts with a smattering of talk about quality issues but I haven't been able to find much in the way of which units require more work than others. I'm a newb so it's possible that I'm just not using the right search terms.

• Like 3

Look for the teardown videos... the crew in Russia (I forget their youtube channel's name) does a splendid job. But in general I think difficulty of disassembly is model specific more than manufacturer. The only routine maintenance of a non-suspension wheel is tire changes, these are simple machines and there's not much to them. Tire changes are moderately difficult but aren't quite rocket surgery, however on some models the tire change is a substantial undertaking.

• Like 1

I tend to fiddle with and modify my wheels accordingly. Noticed that Gotways build quality and parts-fittings are not as good as the King Songs. I haven't worked on any Inmotions yet.

Definitely plenty of help available on any search engine, here or youtube.

One thing I can advice is to never grab the TIRE to move the wheels around when your wrenching.  I did it once unaware, the wheel spun and slammed my knuckles into sharp plastic. 

• Like 2

1 minute ago, Surfling said:

One thing I can advice is to never grab the TIRE to move the wheels around when your wrenching.  I did it once unaware, the wheel spun and slammed my knuckles into sharp plastic. 

Ouch! I'll have to remember that!

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Surfling said: