Needed: Newbie level ground start advice

Gazza-usa

Hi guys, so I'm new to this (4 hrs ish).  I did my first flat ground start today however it was super unbalanced which I think is due to the angle of attack.  My tilt is 0 degrees at the moment and as a result I can't seem to gain speed by rolling my right foot forward (dominant foot).  I've watched a load of youtube videos and it seems that everyone has a bit of speed before they hop on.  I'm unable to gain speed as my legs don't seem to bend that far.  It might be a case of my CofG is further back than others.

My first thoughts are to re-calibrate and set the tiltback to 2 degrees (at first) so that it's easier for me to gain a little bit of speed whilst starting (ie being level will move me forward a bit).

What are your thoughts on this and should I make the change at this point in my learning curve ?  I did manage to start twice today from level but it was very difficult.  It was a case of hopping on, balancing (precariously whilst still) and then forcing myself forward to gain speed and stability.  Not what I feel is a normal method from what I see with you guys.

I seem to be improving in all othe raspects and the EUC doesn't seem alien to me anymore.  Very cool!!  Going over small bumps up minor hills and doing fairly tight turns.  Defo need to practice figure 8's and the like.

TIA.

No matter the settings (each wheel has slight angle differences anyway) just keep at it.

It can feel hopeless at times but you're also getting your legs used to the new forces you are applying to them. It takes a while for the legs to be strong enough to stay relaxed and when that happens it becomes enjoyable and the rest just comes rather quickly.

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1