How do you maintain the shock?

Waulnut

As title states, how do you maintain your shock?

I currently own a T4 with ~200 miles on it. I want to get some insight on how others clean and maintain their shock since this is my first time with suspension and I have no idea how to keep it in good condition. 

What are best practices? Are there any particular products you use that works well? What do you do? 

I'd like to know that too. I have a similar distance on my Master and have done 'no practice at all' at keeping it clean other than wiping it off with a dry cloth after a particularly wet ride. No unusual noises from it so far.

Keep the area around the "moving" parts somewhat clean. And you will be fine. Adding DRY lube on the shinny cylinders/moving parts would be welcomed.

You could simply do nothing, ignore all dirt, etc.. But that way you will need to repair/exchange things faster. Also suspension will start to feel clunky.

If you go off-roading and it gets full of mud - ofc it needs a cleaning. Simple street riding - it shouldn't get dirty fast..

Some kind big/long brush that could go in between things would do the needed job. 2-5 min in/out motion and done. Afterwards adding little DRY lube.

51eX1JVIGFL.jpg

Another minus in having suspension - you need to baby it somewhat. If you wanna extend it's life. On non-suspension wheels you don't need to do anything. :thumbup:

Edited by Funky
  • Upvote 1

7 minutes ago, Funky said:

Another minus in having suspension - you need to baby it somewhat. If you wanna extend it's life. On non-suspension wheels you don't need to do anything.

I don't mind babying it and I do appreciate its relatively easy to fix since the wheels are shell-less so it is less daunting than a V12 that I board swapped. But suspension is very nice quality of life change. I feel the minor inconvenience of cleaning it occasionally is little compared to riding comfort.